Login / Register


Ethiopia:Who is the Next Ethiopian President?

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!

Sorry, only registred users can create playlists.

Added by fana Tigabu in Politics News


This is a list of Presidents of Ethiopia and also a list of Heads of State after the fall of the Ethiopian Empire in 1974. Until 1974, the Heads of State were Representatives of the Ethiopian Empire, often Emperors or Regents. Following the Coup d'État of the Derg leading to the fall of the Empire in September 1974 until March 1975, the Derg considered the Ethiopian Crown Prince Asfaw Wossen Haile Selassie as the nominal Head of State – which the Crown Prince refused to accept. During this time, the Chairmen of the Derg, the leaders of the Derg, were to be considered as acting Heads of State. After 21 March 1975, the Derg military junta fully took over. All following Derg Chairmen until the establishment of the People's Democratic Republic of Ethiopia in 1987, still dominated by Derg figures, have to be considered Heads of State – but not Presidents of Ethiopia. After the fall of the Derg and the establishment of the Transitional Government of Ethiopia in 1991, the first following President (Meles Zenawi) has to be considered an Interim President. Since the formal establishment of the office of President in 1987, there have been 6 official presidents. The President is the head of state of Ethiopia. The current President is Mulatu Teshome, elected in 2013

Post your comment


Be the first to comment